Mon -Fri  8-5  -  Evening/Weekends by appointment at no extra charge!
Tel: ( 608 ) 333-5625
A trusted Madison professional with over 35 years of experience

Testimonials

October 26, 2013

The work was done with a high level of quality and the tech explained everything he did and even swept up after himself.  The only problem I've had since the work is that after he did some cutting of a door plate to get the lock to seat properly in our front door, our porch lights and outlet stopped working.  I can't say for sure that the work he did on the lock had any impact to the line running from the switch box next to the door and the porch lights, but as far as I know they were working before he came.  I'm inclined to believe it's a coincidence but we'll see. 

P. Scarr

October 23, 2013

The Loc Doc is very professional and punctual.  He is a very honest man and very impressive.  His willingness to answer questions make suggestion and will not sell you something that is not needed. He was not pushy and very much appreciated.  I would highly recommend him.  I would definitely use his services again.. . 

D. Eastmead

July 1, 2013

Called Bill to change out our locks.  He was on site within an hour and done within 30 minutes of arriving.  Changed out two locks, made 8 keys and did some extra work, without charging extra for it.  The locks had been difficult to use, now they operate very well due to adjustments he made.  He also had some very good suggestions for future reference.  The guy knows his stuff and does great work. 

T. Hanley

April 28, 2013

The owner came out the day we called and installed three deadbolts and two exterior door handles.  The cost was not cheap, but was reasonable for the quality of the work.  I also appreciated that he quoted exact installation costs and various cost options for different handles on the phone before he came, so there were no surprises.  He cleaned up meticulously, was efficient and professional.  I would definitely use his service again. 

E. Schnabel

February 13, 2013

They showed up on time, they got the job done in very timely manner, very professional and I would
use their services.

M. Payne

January 24, 2013

From our first phone conversation to the time of service, Bill was very professional and willing to work with our somewhat complicated and changing schedule. Being able to pay by credit card was very convenient as well. I would definitely use him again and will recommend the Lock Doc in the future for locksmith needs. 

S. Gloss

December 31, 2012

Bill was kind and helpful from the moment he arrived.  He was patient in explaining options and how things work.  He cleaned locks that were not working smoothly when he arrived without extra charge or complaint.  I wondered about handles on inside doors, though he was not replacing them, and he looked at them and explained how good they were and how to unlock them easily from the outside with a screwdriver.  When he replaced a keyed handle with one that was not keyed, he used the most economical handle based on his understanding of my need to be cost careful.  When I didn't appreciate the style, he cheerfully and patiently replaced it with one I liked after explaining the price difference.  He was willing to make as many keys as I wanted without extra charge, explaining why it was better to make them at the time instead of later by copying the keys.  He was willing to come back to check on things if I found difficulties after he left, though there was never a need.  If I have a need for lock service in the future, there is no doubt who I will call.  Bill was amazing to work with, clearly knows his trade, was so kind and conscientious.  I heartily recommend The Lock Docs! 

E. Allen

December 28, 2012

I came home from my holiday vacation to find out my front doorknob no longer worked! I looked up locksmiths here and found the Lock Doc and gave them a call. Bill called me right back and within two hours had fixed my problem. He gave me an accurate estimate over the phone and was prompt. 

During the visit he answered my questions about what happened to the door and how I can prevent such things from happening again in the future. 

All in all a very good experience, and I would definitely use them again if something happened, although I'd probably try to fix it on my own first, I felt a little silly after seeing how simple it was! 

B. Sherman

October 29, 2012

It was a perfect experience. He arrived on time, was professional, obviously very knowledgeable about his industry, gave me several pointers on home safety while he went about his tasks. I'm delighted I came upon his business via Angie's List. Thanks!

G. Jordan

October 15, 2012

Bill was very responsive.  He answered the phone each time I called and was able to schedule me with little notice.  He changed the locks for a house we had just purchased.  Not only did he rekey the locks but he also provided suggestions on how we could improve our locks in the future and what door handles would be best for our lifestyle.  He seemed to be extremely knowledgeable about ALL different types of locks, which was great.  I will definitely use him again in the future and recommend him to others. 

S. Mathis

June 16, 2012

The owner, Bill Lehr, answered my phone call and gave me an estimate on what we wanted done.  He was available to do the work within a day or two.  He gave us an estimated time of arrival and did indeed arrive within that time estimate. He is personable, professional and extremely knowledgeable.  He is very good at explaining different options and why he recommends certain brands and types of knobs & locks. He also carefully walked us through how to operate our new digital lock and how to add or change the codes. 
The whole process was finished in about 3 hours.  It was a very good experience and we now have a reliable locksmith on whom we can depend.

B. Griffith

March 20, 2012

They came out the same day that I called and did all the work onsite. They completed by evening. 
They offered some good advice on other things to do but did not push. They answered all my questions 
very well. I was very satisfied with the quality of the locks.

K. Smuga-Otto

March 15, 2012

I recently bought a condo and wanted my locks changed for security reasons; my mailbox lock was also broken and needed to be fixed.  Bill was able to replace 4 locks in less than 2 hours - and on the same day that I called.  He also gave me a small can of WD40 - free of charge! - to keep my locks in good working condition.  He was extremely knowledgeable, helpful and professional.

K. Rose

November 22, 2011

Excellent service, fast arrival, and competitive rates. No complaints, but hopefully I won't lock myself out of my car again. Arrived in ~20 minutes, got my car unlocked no problems, and back to the day I went.

January 12, 2011

We used The Lock Doc 2-3 months ago. They are our locksmiths. He really redid our system including a numerical pad for a couple of outside doors, servicing, and tightening up. He got it work better. He did a lot of other locks throughout the house. We had a very good experience. It was terrific. He was on time. He did when he said he would do. He was extremely personable and helpful with information. He was all around terrific.

October 11, 2011

Great service. Fast, professional and not that expensive (about $55 on average to open my car - I've used them twice). Paid by check both times no problem. Took about 20-25 minutes to arrive and they got the car open in about 2 minutes. Super nice.

October 9, 2011

Installed new push button front door lock and rekeyed all other locks.

Excellent on the phone. Able to come over same day. very complete and thorough. had one minor problem with a lock, called, and he came over same day and fixed it.

October 7, 2011

I was from out of town visiting a friend and accidentally engaged the privacy knob before leaving for a six mile run. I came back thirsty, hungry, and without a clue how to get back into the apartment. I called Bill who told me he didn't even need to come, and talked me through how to access the pinhole and open the knob. I got in, hungry and thirsty and thankful! If I could pay him for his advice I would've gladly done so. Keep up the wonderful customer service.

September 25, 2011

Installed new lock, re-keyed two other locks, fixed all three locks so they open and close smoothly.

Bill came promptly when called and not only installed our new lock but re-keyed all our other locks to the same key. He adjusted the locks so they all open smoothly and easily now with their new keys. He is experienced, knowledgeable and highly professional. Lock Doc gets A+++ ratings from us!

August 12, 2011

Bill provided prompt, professional service. In addition to re-keying, he made some improvements so my deadbolt works more effectively and provided useful information about building security. I was very pleased with the service received.